Making sure you have all the information you need for a meeting soon will be a lot easier thanks to a new Google Workspace update.
The company’s Google Calendar app is revamping the messages it sends to users to ensure key details are presented in a “more accessible and useful” way.
This means users should be able to identify things like a time or location change and whether new invitees have been added, along with existing details like dial-in details and a Google Meet join link alongside a seemingly new “Join” up to Google Meet” button.
Google Calendar emails
To eliminate any possible confusion, users will still see the old and updated information when they receive an email notifying them of any changes or modifications to an event.
The company it says (opens in new tab) The updates will also improve Google Workspace’s interoperability with other email providers, such as Microsoft Outlook, so users of all providers and devices can experience a useful, easy-to-use interface.
The update is rolling out now and will not require any special tweaks or admin changes. End users should start seeing the new look right away, as it will be available to all Google Workspace customers, as well as legacy G Suite Basic and Business customers, as well as users with personal Google Accounts.
The news is the latest in a number of recent Google Calendar updates as the company looks to ensure its calendar app is useful for workers embracing hybrid work after the pandemic eases.
Recently, Google Calendar has also been updated to show multiple status options in Google Chat, giving you extra information about what you or your coworkers are up to. Previously limited to just showing when someone was out of the office, Google Chat can now show a number of different statuses, including “in a meeting” or “in focus time”.
Google Calendar also recently released “Focus Time” where users can block out periods of time where they can avoid meetings and get their heads down to real work.
Setting this bookmark on your Google Calendar will also allow users to automatically opt out of meetings, meaning there’s no last-minute rush to get work done.